Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-31 - 12:16 a.m.

Happy All Hallows Eve!

Tonight was all about preparation for the party at 'Casa del Horror'. I lugged my enormous bag o' wicca goodies, which weighed about twelve tonnes, out to the west end to avoid carrying it tomorrow when I'm all geared up in my fetching bunny outfit. It shouldn't have been so heavy, but I persuaded myself that if I was going to trek over my own chalice, athame, and casket of white sage, I might as well bring the altar stone, too. Not to mention any number of tools of divination for the more curious party goers: fortune telling teacup, tarot deck, bag of runes, and a scrying bowl.

It was a great night, and very productive. Four of us ladies spent four hours sitting on the floor, scooping and carving 5 large, 2 medium and 4 small pumpkins. So many guts. So much mess. Ye Gods.

I spent most of the evening feeling particularly medical, performing meticulous surgery on my big orange gourd while parked in front of the telly watching some freaky-assed CSI episode. It involved this weird counter-culture where people get off on wearing plush furry animal costumes. I was completely grossed out by the visuals of the PFA (Plush Furry Animals) convention, and appalled that they went into some detail regarding terminology for the sexual encounters of these freaks.

Appalled, that is, until I realized 1) I am also a counter-culture convention-attending freak, and 2) tomorrow I am dressing up *to go to work* as an enormous pink bunny in a full-body plush suit complete with pink plush mitts to cover my hands, spats to cover my shoes, and a headpiece with ears that leaves only my face exposed to view. I mean, sure, it's Hallowe'en, but I'll be travelling on public transit in this getup for goodness' sake. At that realization, I pretty much went back to carving my pumpkin.

Ah, my pumpkin. A modern masterpiece of jack-o-lantern style. Amy took about a whole roll of film post-carve, so there will be pictures posted here shortly. I tried to think of the scariest face possible, and then at work today it came to me in a flash. Underworld! Kraven! Complete cranial bisection! I sliced my pumpkin in two on a diagonal and carved a horrifying creased vampire face onto it, pupils looking disbelievingly downward at the widening incision that is slowly separating his forehead, eyes and nose from his mouth and chin. It's hilarious, scary, weird and awesome. I also did a mini-tealight pumpkin, no bigger than my fist, which is a little mini-galaxy of moons and stars.

Alyssa's piece de resistance was a struggle against the opression of the traditionally carved pumpkin and it's slavish adherence to the arrangement of the human visage. A Picasso homage, it involved many oddly sized and cubist facial features migrating to new and different areas of the head. She also did a number of smaller pumpkins, usually involving the 'boo!' round eyes and mouth concept, which were truly adorable.

Amy got out the big guns, and tackled the two gigantic mofos with great aplomb. She turned the tall, lanky gourd into a street sign indicating the house number; while the round, portly gourd became a monster whose gaping maw gapes so gapingly that you can actually see its TONSILS. Fabulous.

Christie departed from her usual role as Designated Scooper and Cheering Squad, and produced several menacing vegetable creations of her own. The big project was a fellow I like to call "the greasy Mexican" in honour of my long-lost friend Gustavo. It has a jaunty chapeau and a long, curvaceous moustachio that flickers greasily with the light of its internal flameio. Her tiny pumpkin (or 'pumpster', as they are colloquially known) was more of a psychological piece. It features an "X" on one side and a "Y" on the other, in a nod to chromosomal labelling. Reflective of the inner horror of studying for the MCAT, it can be interpreted on a deeper level as exploring the horrors that women have suffered through the ages at the hands of the male of the species. Deceptively simplistic in its execution, this is truly the most scary pumpkin of all.

Time to get to bed, although I'm sure I won't get to sleep for ages yet. I am one excited little witch right now! Hurrah for Samhain!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!